X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Update Campaigning

Hello everyone,

I've had problems accessing the board (long story that would qualify me for "the idiot of computing" award!)

Anyway, I've been a registered member before and my real name is Val Weedon and happy for everyone to know that. Its not easy keeping it a secret anyway as I've been campaigning against noisy neighbours for over 12 years now. My web site for those who don't know of me is:

http://www.superscript.co.uk/tnn/index.html

Just wanted to update you on things and try to encourage some of you to be active in some way. It was one of the reasons that the Neighbours From Hell topic has had such wide publicity. Unless sufferers tell their story and speak out, nothing will change. Although I do understand that if you face physical harm or intimidation its unwise to "go public".

April 30th was International Noise Awareness Day and the UK Noise Association that I also work with, held an event at the House of Commons. We sent invites to every MP (yes, including Tony Blair and other senior officials) Sadly we only got 6 MPs that came along. We did however get over 100 letters, emails and phone calls supporting our efforts to raise awareness on this issue. Our host for the event, Colchester MP Bob Russell, also tabled an Early Day Motion. You can go to the UKNA's web site and find out what it said (www.superscript.co.uk/ukna/index.html) Please get your MP to sign it. Just send them the EDM number (which is 1114) and ask them to add their signature. The more MPs that sign it, the more notice is taken of the issue and likely to debated in parliament.