X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Poor Tom's Situation

Hi everyone,

I'm new to NFH, but I've lived next to one for 4 years. But he's as convinced that it's me who's the NFH, and I'm worried that any one of you might be him!! I have dogs, fairly well-behaved. Naturally they bark sometimes, and when I'm out I don't know how loud or how long - except when I come home and the house is almost always quiet until they bark their greetings when they hear the front door open.

In the 'good old days' when my NFH was still speaking to me, he complained about the noise, but would never give me details, just that they bark 'all the time' which I know to be untrue - at least a big exaggeration. And he refused to give me feedback on my anti-bark strategies (e.g. leave tv on/off; leave with chews, bones etc; feed in morning/evening) so I couldn't take action to minimise the noise. It was as if he wanted the noise so he could complain.

Then - thankfully? - he stopped speaking to me. But has complained to Environmental Health about the dogs, the extension being built, starting our cars in the morning before we go to work, the smoke detector going off while we were away on holiday, Xmas 2001 (why didn't he call the fire brigade?!! - or ask the neighbour with a key to go in and turn it off?)

I've tried going round to discuss things with him, but he orded me off his property, with 'I have nothing to say to you' (pity he didn't also think about listening). We've tried the local conciliation service, but he refuses to participate.

And now he's complained to social services about our maltreatment of the baby, because he cries.

We've never (yet) complained about the smoke from his barbecue sending our children indoors most fine summer evenings, nor about his cypresses which are encroaching on our front garden. Aren't we moderate and reasonable?